The 2010 Oldie of the Year Awards


Location : Simpson\'s in the Strand

  • London, Westminster,Belgravia,Pimlico, 100 Strand
  • 26-01-2010 to 30-11--0001
  • 13:00
  • Share

The 2010 Oldie of the Year Awards
In association with Swan Hellenic

Judging Panel and Awards Date Announced

Chaired by Sir Terry Wogan, the line-up consists of Quentin Letts, columnist; Libby Purves, broadcaster and Jane Thynne, author. Richard Ingrams, editor and founder of The Oldie will also join the judging panel.

Winners will be presented with their awards at The 2010 Oldie of the Year Awards in association with Swan Hellenic lunch at Simpson’s-in-the-Strand on Tuesday 26th January 2010 at 1pm. The awards will be presented by Sir Terry Wogan and Richard Ingrams.

The Oldie of the Year Awards was founded in 1992 and annually awards the best efforts of Britain’s ‘oldies’, from MPs to Campaigners, ‘Wannabe Oldies’ to ‘Shelf Stackers of the Year’.

Previous prestigious ‘Oldie of the Year Award’ winners have included Revd Ian Paisley (2008), Sir David Attenborough (2005), Ranulph Fiennes (2004), Tony Blackburn (2003), Eric Sykes (2002), Sir John Mortimer (2001), Dame Thora Hird (1998), Baroness (Barbara) Castle of Blackburn (1996), Richard Wilson (1995), Spike Milligan (1994) and David Gower (1992).

Other categories are decided on, and often created, each year depending on the deserving parties involved. Previous award categories have included ‘Hoofer of the Year’ (John Sergeant in 2009), ‘Spouse of the Year’ (Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall in 2006), ‘Cometh the Hour Award’ (Christopher Lee in 2004), ‘Old Groaner of the Year’ (George Melly in 2002) and ‘Oldie Makeover of the Year’ (Nicky Haslam in 2001)

Terry Wogan (Chair)
Terry Wogan is a radio and television broadcaster who has worked for the BBC for most of his career. He has been a leading media personality in the United Kingdom since the late 1960s. Terry Wogan describes The Oldie as a magazine that is 'true to its name - celebrating the immaturity of the mature.' Terry Wogan regularly chairs The Oldie of the Year Awards in association with Swan Hellenic judging panel and will be presenting the awards on the 26 January 2010 in London.

Richard Ingrams
Richard Ingrams was the editor of Private Eye for 23 years, before founding and editing The Oldie magazine. Ingrams set up The Oldie in 1992 as ‘an antidote to youth culture but, more importantly, a magazine with emphasis on good writing, humour and quality illustration.’

Quentin Letts
Quentin Letts is The Daily Mail's star political sketch-writer and theatre critic. Letts has written for a number of newspapers since beginning his career in 1987, including The Daily Telegraph, New Statesman and The Times.

Libby Purves
Libby Purves is a BBC radio presenter (Radio 4, Midweek and The Learning Curve), journalist and author. She has written a series of books on childcare, eleven well-regarded novels and a travel book. She is a regular contributor to The Oldie.

Jane Thynne
Jane Thynne trained at the BBC before working on The Sunday Times, The Daily Telegraph and The Independent. She hosted a series on BBC Radio 4, and was a contributor to Start The Week and The News Quiz. She is also the author of Patrimony, The Shell House and The Weighing Of The Heart.

Swan Hellenic
Swan Hellenic has been defining the art of discovery cruising for more than 50 years; offering knowledgeable travellers the opportunity to cruise the world in intimate country house style on mv Minerva. Each cruise itinerary is a cultural travel experience, combining the world’s most treasured must-see landmarks with off-the-beaten track destinations which are every bit as beautiful and inspiring. Uniquely, Swan Hellenic includes sight-seeing excursions at every port visited and all gratuities within the price of the cruise.

Uniquely....within the price of the cruise, as well as an integrated programme of talks by eminent Guest Speakers, bringing the destinations to life. Swan Hellenic is also running a writing workshop, in association with The Oldie aboard Minerva's 'Venetian Republic' cruise departing 09 September 2010, where distinguished authors Jeremy Lewis, Paul Bailey and Sara Wheeler will host sessions on board to help budding writers make the most of their creativity (or words to this effect). Prices from £2130 per person.

Most recently, Swan Hellenic won the 2009 Condé Nast Traveller Reader’s Travel Award for Favourite Cruiseline: Small Ship.

For more information about The Oldie of the Year Awards 2010 in association with Swan Hellenic, or to receive the winners names under embargo, please do not hesitate to contact Sophie Rochester at